If you’re on our website, you already know about Hara Partners. We’re an e-commerce solutions company focused mainly on building websites in Magento for online retailers.
We provide full-service web builders custom tailored to your business needs, from front-end functionality to complex backend logic. We’ve worked with over 250 Magento-based stores, and are able to service our clients with design, photography, IT services, and hosting.
To read more about us, you can visit our About page. All of the posts that you see here below deal directly with news about our company, such as who we’ve partnered with in the past, our meetups, and who our current clients are.
As a qualified NetSuite-Magento integrator, we are also happy to post the wonders of both systems in these posts. Some companies can say that they’re Magento experts, but we’re the real deal. That’s why most ecommerce companies know that we’re the #1 professionals when it comes to this stuff.
More About Hara Partners:
Hara Partners cultivates a collaborative atmosphere of analytical, business-minded individuals. We’re a smart, young, entrepreneurial company poised for growth and new opportunities. We operate entirely in-house, bolstering one another with complementary specializations. We hold weekly meetings to keep our entire team up-to-date with the latest technologies and performance-enhancing tweaks for online retailers.
Our Project Managers, Tech Leads, Sales Leads, and Design Leads are trained experts in their respective disciplines, each functioning as a single cog in Hara Partners’ team dynamic. This unique four-perspective approach permits a comprehensive understanding of your business and advanced strategizing from the get-go. In other words, we bring e-commerce development expertise to the table in order to position you as the expert in your industry.
Our relationship with you is a two-way street. Foremost in our values are honesty and humility, the cornerstones of our partnership-building efforts. We employ a consultative approach, always addressing your requirements with your best interests in mind. We’re with you every step of the way—planning, execution, finalization, and post-process—and we’ve developed a suite of scalable services to assist you in the process. We speak your language and consider you our Partner.
From the fine folks at Glamour Magazine comes a startling insight about Michelle Obama’s taste in tech. Apparently—well, apparent if you’re a fan of fallacy-filled syllogisms—the First Lady is quite fond of a certain New York Magento Development company (hint: it’s Hara Partners).
See, Mrs. Obama—already heralded by many in the fashion community as a haute-couture treasure-hunter of sorts for her ability to unearth fashion finds (see Wu, Jason)—was recently photographed wearing a top by the Brooklyn-based label SUNO (that’s the Mrs. O loves SUNO part of the title). What the Glamour folks don’t know is that SUNO also has impeccable taste…in Magento Development companies (oh snap!). That’s right, Hara Partners (yes, THE Hara Partners) is the party behind www.sunony.com, the clothiers’ fantastic U.S. website (that’s the SUNO loves Hara Partners part).
I’m sure those of you well grounded in classical logic don’t need me to spell this out, but I’ll do it anyway for the rest of us:
Fact 1: Michelle Obama loves SUNO
Fact 2: SUNO loves Hara Partners (what’s not to love, amirite?)
Ergo, (prepare for mind-blowage) “Fact” 3: Michelle Obama MUST love Hara Partners!!!!!
NEW YORK – Today e-commerce solutions provider Hara Partners announced a collaboration with Crumbs, a leader in cup-based confections. Hara Partners has provided Crumbs with a sleek new customer experience, from a total overhaul of the Crumbs.com website to a new and efficient delivery system.
By redesigning Crumbs.com and making it mobile friendly, Hara Partners helped expand the Crumbs consumer base and vastly improved customer satisfaction. Connecting Crumbs with PeriShip, a speedy food delivery service provided by Federal Express, ensures quality and freshness from the oven to the taste buds.
“Crumbs makes some of the most delicious pastries on the planet.” says Mai Erne, CEO of Hara Partners. “Thanks to our partnership more people will be able to experience fresh cupcakes on demand.”
About Hara Partners
Hara Partners (www.harapartners.com), founded in 2006, provides industry-leading, innovative, and cost-effective web solutions based on Magento, the e-commerce platform trusted by the world’s leading brands. From concept to execution to ongoing support, Hara Partners secures clients’ bottom-line revenue growth and profitability via customized website development and design. As of mid-2012, HP has served 250+ Magento-based stores in a variety of capacities—content, photography, video, development, consulting, IT services, and hosting.
Based in NYC and entirely in-house, Hara Partners crafts a growth strategy with each client to refine the look and feel of the brand. Specialties include custom modules, integrations, and customized digital identity-building. They adhere to industry best practices and open standards, minimizing costs to facilitate future enhancements. Whether it’s online stores or complex database solutions, their experts translate business needs into a powerful, flexible web presence.
About Crumbs
Crumbs Bake Shop first opened its doors in March of 2003 on the Upper West Side of Manhattan. The menu is an irresistible blend of comfort-oriented classics and elegant baked goods, but the specialty of the house is the Crumbs Signature size cupcakes! With more than 50 varieties baked fresh daily and a new cupcake of the week every Monday, each Crumbs Bake Shop is an oasis of wall to wall deliciousness.
One way to analyze acquisition strategy and estimate marketing costs is to calculate the Lifetime value (“LTV”) of a customer. Roughly defined, LTV is the projected revenue that a customer will generate during their lifetime. In this graphic we’ll briefly cover how to calculate LTV and how to use LTV to help solidify your marketing budget.
Case Study: Starbucks
Despite the shaky economy, Starbucks is opening new stores around the world. In 2012, Starbucks expects to open 600 new locations internationally, about 25 percent of which will be in China. It’s no secret that Starbucks’ acquisition strategy is closely scrutinized and routinely copied. Using rough sales figures from 2004, we’re able to estimate the LTV of and average Starbucks customer. The sales data from Starbucks may not reflect current marketing trends, and is only provided to illustrate the steps necessary to calculate LTV.
Step 1: Average Your Variables
Customer expenditures per visit
Number of visits per week (the “purchase cycle”)
Avg. customer value per week (Expenditures x Visits)
Step 2: Calculate Lifetime Value (LTV)
Constants
The Average Customer Lifespan (how long someone remains a customer). In the case of Starbucks, the average customer lifespan is 20 years.
Customer Retention Rate. The percentage of customers, who, over a given period of time, repurchase, when compared to an equal and preceding period of time. Starbucks: 75%
Profit Margin per Customer. 21.3%
The Rate of Discount. The “rate of discount” is the interest rate used in discounted cash flow analysis to determine the present value of future cash flows. Usually this number falls between 8% and 15%. Starbucks: 10%
Avg. Gross Margin per Customer Lifespan. Starbucks has a profit margin of 21.3%. If the average customer spends $25,272 during their time as a customer, Starbucks has gross margin per customer lifespan of $5,382.94.
By calculating the LTV of an average customer, Starbucks can now begin to estimate the maximum acquisition cost of a new customer.
Breaking Down LTV Further
LTV Will be Different for Different Kinds of Customers
Step 2 in this graphic is intended to help you determine LTV as a total average (an average of all your customers). To do this, companies will typically average the data from randomly chosen customers (as shown in Step 1 above). Sometimes it’s helpful to break down the average further and perform separate LTV calculations for different kinds of customers. Try and segment your customer base by total purchases over a long time period, and it will help you determine the LTV of “good” customer versus and “average” one. This type of analysis will help you determine how much more you should pay in order to acquire a “good” customer. See chart below.
Investing in “Good” Customers
Companies should be worried about the lasting impact of “buying cheap customers.” How likely are these customers to buy another product, or hang around for a few years? Sometimes it pays to invest in “good” customers. “Good” customers might cost more to acquire, but they’ll likely be more profitable as well.
Let’s say that the LTV of an “average” customer is $8,000, and the LTV of a “good” customer is $10,000. By subtracting the two LTV’s, you can see that you might expect to pay $2,000 more to acquire “good” customers.
Customer Satisfaction Boosts LTV
One of the most effective ways to boost LTV is to increase customer satisfaction. Research has found that a 5% increase in customer retention can increase profits by 25% to 95%. The same study found that it costs six to seven times more to gain a new customer that to keep an existing one.
The success of Starbucks could be attributed to its high customer satisfaction rate (89%, 2002, see below). Survey software such as KISSinsights can help you determine (and improve) your customer satisfaction rate.
PayPal, as part of its ongoing commitment to furthering merchant interests by improving the customer experience, has recently announced its plans to offer two new Magento apps to the e-Commerce platform’s users, “in-Aisle Ordering” and “Order Ahead”, each of which promises to alleviate a common consumer “pain point” (as PayPal has termed those event that lessen the customer experience). The first Magento app offered by the online payments giant, “In-Aisle Selling”, allows store owners to connect their Magento sites to “Here”, PayPal’s mobile POS application, and is intended to combat the hassle of checking-out by allowing sales associates to accept payments anywhere via any smart phone or web-enabled device. The second Magento app, “Order Ahead” is, as the name suggests, a gateway for customers to place, and pay for, orders directly from the app via any smart phone or tablet thus bypassing any lines.
In-Aisle Ordering
The In-Aisle Selling offering promises to connect your Magento store with PayPal’s mobile point-of-sale app “Here” so that any mobile device can be turned into what PayPal has termed a “concierge” sales tool. Now, sales associates can smoothly close sales right in the aisle, including accepting payments and the full array of shipping options, just like using a regular POS terminal.
Order Ahead
After a successful run of Beta testing at Jamba Juice, where the app has been in use since January 2013, PayPal is now making Order Ahead available to all Magneto users. The Order Ahead which is completely “turn-key” – it’s actually part of the PayPal app – places the full menu and ordering experience including payment in the hands of the consumer, so their order is filled and ready when they arrive at your store thus eliminating any time wasted in line.
Whether these apps revolutionize the shopper experience or not remains to be seen, however, it seems fairly certain that they capable of driving some sales your way at little to no cost to you and are, therefore, well worth a look.
You may have heard some people tossing around the phrase “the Great Migration”—what are they on about? Basically, it’s a prominent emerging trend among e-tailers over the past few months: 49% of online merchants have considered switching platforms within the next two years. Of those who opt to migrate, nearly half go with Magento! Obviously, this is something to reckon with. We’re talking about the most versatile, feature-rich platform on the market. Add to that its open-source mentality and free Community subset, and it’s easy to see the reasoning behind the Great Migration.
But it’s no stroll in the park. If you don’t address the following concerns in your (hopeful) Magento migration, you’ll certainly be sorry later.
What to Know about Magento Migration
Magento is the most resource-intensive platform. Be sure to prepare your hosting environment ahead of time; you don’t want to be caught with your pants down. Few things drive potential customers away quicker than constant downtime or slow page loads.
Hold off on the modules, at least at first. Start by moving your database. Once you’ve got a good handle on Magento out-of-the-box, you can start playing with all the extras.
Don’t underestimate the complexity of data migration. For example, you may end up with undefined prices for product variants, even if they were previously defined. Expect this kind of snag and be prepared to rectify the situation with good old-fashioned elbow grease. It’s by no means an automatic process—scour your database during and after migration.
Attributes and attribute sets are your friends; use them! These amp up Magento’s legendary flexibility during the setup process for your store. Do your homework, though: yes, they can help you efficiently port over all sorts of complex products, but they can also snarl up your resources if you don’t know what you’re doing.
Welcome to multi-store and multi-language functionality! It’s good to have you. Like anything else, though, you need to prepare for expanded reach and customer influx.
Expect your store management dashboard to become more complicated, and know that with several store views comes a multiplicity of order calculations.
Get used to data indexing—this is Magento’s (justifiable) way of speeding up frontend updates. If you edit a product and don’t see the changes reflected right away, that doesn’t mean Magento is broken. The system may not be scheduled to index a batch of products. In some cases, you’ll have to manually re-index—your mileage may vary.
Multiple websites/domains are possible from one Magento installation, but they require virtual hosts and tweaks to web server settings. Ask a development expert here, it’s definitely worth your time to be absolutely sure that you end up with the correct configuration.
The Last Word
It’s a complex beast, but the numbers speak for themselves. Once properly prepared, administrators and developers alike swear by Magento, and that doesn’t even get into the benefits consumers experience. Be sure to read our other posts about Magento upgrades and editions to get a better picture of which is most appropriate for your platform. Happy retailing!
If you are a web developer chances are you understand what the internet means to global commerce, and you’ve given thought to how you can get your piece of the pie. Well, I’m here to tell you that as a developer THE way to maximize your potential in the global e-commerce marketplace is Magento Development, and here’s why:
Why E-commerce?
According to the US Department of Commerce in 2010 E-commerce accounted for 46.4% ($2,283 billion) of total shipments in the US, a 21% increase over 2009 and U.S. retail e-commerce sales reached $169 billion. In fact, from 2002 to 2010, retail e-sales increased at an average annual growth rate of 17.9 percent and in 2012 E-commerce sales totaled for $225.5 billion – accounting for 5.2 percent of total retail sales for the year!
Why Magento Development?
With over 138,000 sites using already using Magento, of which 49,000 are of the internet’s top sites, Magento is the easily the world’s favorite e-commerce platform. And with thousands of new sites added each month this is sure to continue to be true. As a developer, however, the reasons to learn Magento development extend beyond simply taking advantage of the vast opportunity the large number of users present. Magento is built open-source so you’ll have ample opportunity to create extensions, add-ons, and plug-ins that can bolster, or even replace your base income. Additionally, the complex nature of Magento – the site is considered one of the hardest to master – means that truly capable Magento development professionals control their own market, and a very lucrative market it is.
Ok, I’m Convinced, Now What?
Lucky for you Magento offers great training opportunities for professionals of all skill levels, and certifications for those that complete the requirements. A great place for developers looking to break into the Magento marketplace to begin is the very popular Fundamentals of Magento Development course. Course attendees will be introduced to the Magento architecture and learn how Magento makes use of MVC, the Zend framework, and OOP to achieve its legendary flexibility in a hands-on environment. Best of all, the 40 hour course is offered completely on-demand, so you don’t even have to leave your couch to attend. For more information about the course please visit our dedicated Fundamentals of Magento Development page.
It’s happened to everyone: You walk into a store expecting to buy something (think coffee shop), see a line and decide that buying there simply wasn’t worth your time, so you left and maybe even bought your coffee at a competitor. That’s shopping cart abandonment in real life. Your shopping cart/checkout page can have the same effect on potential e-shoppers: if it’s a hassle buyers will simply shop elsewhere. The checkout page is quite an important part of any e-commerce store. It plays a major role in , in fact
For the average Joe Storeowner finding the right platform upon which to build an e-commerce site is probably a scary and daunting task; there are just so many options! Currently, at the top of the heap is Magento – the all-in-one e-commerce solution. Let’s take a look at what makes Magento so great, and consider some of the pros and cons of the platform to see if Magento is right for your e-commerce project.
What is Magento?
Magento is a powerful, comprehensive suite of business software. The program was built “open-source” which has led to the growth of a massive community and the plethora of extension, add-ons and applications they’ve created, which are available throughE-commerce Solutions
the Magento Connect marketplace. Magento can be used out of the box but the program is really intended to be customized to your business needs and design specs, and as such it is a complex and nuanced program with a steep learning curve. This means that finding a developer who is capable enough to successfully customize the program without losing some functionality (like the ability to upgrade) can be difficult and WILL be expensive to the point that the platform may really not be cost effective for smaller businesses.
Is Magento the Right E-commerce Solution for You?
Now that you understand what Magento is, how can you differentiate it from its competition and decide if it’s the right platform for your business?
Cost Benefit Analysis
A good analogy for Magento is a racecar: both are very powerful, precisely engineered and fine-tuned, and both are too much machine for the average Joe. Magento, like other high performance apparatuses requires the appropriate tools and capable handlers to keep it running at its peak – or to keep it running at all. Therefore, above all else, it is imperative that you secure a high quality source to host your site, and superior developers, preferably with lots of experience on Magento, to handle any fabrication or integration. All this means that if your site is smaller – a $1 million yearly turnover is a good yardstick – Magento is most likely going to be too expensive for you. The good news is that these are basically the only downsides of Magento, and if you can get the right developer to handle your project and your business can afford it, then Magento is a superb system with an amazing set of features.
What Does Magento Offer Users?
In addition to the most comprehensive suite of business software available in one package, Magento offers users all the basic necessities and e-commerce requirements like professional design, great security, and customer service. And the massive community of users means that finding answers to your questions or issues is almost a certainty. Add Built-in SEO optimization and marketing tools and industry leading product management to that and it’s instantly clear why Magento is so popular. However, perhaps the strongest selling points for Magento is that it is infinitely customizable, offering users almost endless design possibilities, and that it’s integrate-able with the vast majority of third-party business applications – think Google Checkout – making it the ideal e-commerce solution upgrade for companies with existing platforms already in place.
Communication integrity is an issue humanity has grappled with for as long as there has been communication. The challenge is simple – sending a message over any distance means exposing that message to risk – the message carrier could, willingly or by accident, give the message to the wrong person, or the message could be taken from him by force, etc. Man, over the years, has employed various strategies to combat this issue: seals, signet rings and cyphers are a few. With the advent of computing and the digital age these techniques, unfortunately, became obsolete and a new protocol was necessary. That where Magento SSL certificates came in.
Secure sockets layer (SSL) technology (or its successor transport layer security, TSL) has, at its most simple, two main applications: to confirm that the message recipient is who they claim to be and to guarantee the message is received unchanged or unmolested. To achieve these goals SSL uses cryptography to create a secure channel between two remote computers, like a web browser and web server or between you and your bank, through which communication can be sent, and which, in conjunction with high level encryption, ensures confidentiality and message integrity. And SSL accomplishes this with almost no burden on servers and because SSL runs entirely in the background there’s no experience change for visitors (beyond seeing the HTTPS and padlock icons that are shown in the image below).
Who needs Magento SSL certificates?
The short answer: every website that handles customer data, and any business that uses email or has remote locations. SSL certificates are cheap enough, between $300 and $600 per year, that not taking advantage of their availability is needless, foolhardy and arguably criminal. Additionally, studies have shown a strong correlation between the presence of an SSL certificate and increases in conversions, with some in the industry claiming increases as high as 15%. The bottom line is that the cost to benefit ratio is skewed so far in favor of having an SSL certificate, even it only functions as a placebo, that you to not have one would be, simply put, stupid.
What types of SSL certificates are there?
SSL certificates are available in three basic website validation tiers: domain, organization and extended validation, each with a different level of validation attached. The domain level has the least vetting requirements – demonstrating control of an admin email address is enough – and cost the least $200 per year. The organization SSL requires a far more stringent vetting process, requiring 3rd party confirmation and some documentation, and costs $300 per year; both of these SSL certificates add the padlock and HTTPS signifiers. The EV level SSL certificate has the most extensive vetting process – in line with the CA/B form guidelines – and the most identity validation, as well as offering the most visibility to users because it adds a green band containing the website’s name and location right to the address bar.
Magento SSL Certificates
Each of these three certificates covers a single domain name, and is available in 1-5 year periods. Alternatively, users can opt for a Wildcard SSL which is issued to *domain.com allowing a single SSL certificate to provide coverage for an unlimited amount of sites. One final option available is acquiring an SSL certificate with Subject Alternative Names (SAN) which allows user to add up to 40 domain or server name variations (e.g. paypal.com vs. www.paypal.com) to their certificate, achieving functionality similar to that of a Wildcard SSL certificate but with a higher level of security, since each name variation is registered in advance.
All of this adds up to something pretty simple: getting a Magento SSL certificate for your e-commerce site is a must, and as a bonus it is also probably the easiest, most cost effective way to raise conversions.